After the rainbow nation – Exhibition – NIROX Sculpture Park

by MatselaMoshokoa

One of my favorite places to get away from the city bustle, is the NIROX Sculpture Park out in The Cradle of Human Kind. 1 hr and 15min from the Parks and you arrive at this beautiful venue in the middle of no where…literally. The lawns at the sculpture park are stunningly manicured , with a stream meandering through the small hills . Its quiet and absolutely tranquil, a perfect place to go and appreciate art in nature. In April, NIROX hosted an exhibition called ‘After the Rainbow Nation’. This unique sculpture exhibition started in the Hague 2012, and saw its way to SA and exhibited at NIROX (read more, http://www.angustaylor.co.za/niroxsculpturepark.html).

I’m pretty new to the art scene myself, and viewing this exhibition is just one of the great activities I have added to my to do list. I’ve taken up a journey of discovery, to explore the fascinating world of art.

My afternoon at the Sculpture Park was amazing and very different from my first experience at NIROX. My initial visit to the park, was for a friends birthday celebration, where we hiked up the hills away from the gorgeous lawns and trees, and perched on top of one hill is a kraal like structure made of packed short stone walls reminiscent or inspired by the Zimbabwe ruins, and what we all least expected to see, in the middle of no-where, was a pizza oven!! yep…a rustic stone pizza oven. I think NIROX still keeps this little gem a secret, hope I didn’t let the cat out the bag. My 1st experience of Nirox was truly unforgettable. The 2nd time around did not disappoint either. I loved walking around the lawns moving from sculpture to sculpture (with my NIKON in tow), it was a beautiful Autumn afternoon with candyfloss clouds.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

It was an afternoon well spent. The sculptures were amazing and on sale for a pretty art penny. I cannot wait to share more about art, as I embark on this journey of discovery.

Nirox Sculpture Park is a place worth visiting. I have also gone back for the Franchhoek Wine Fair and the Zim Ngqawana tribute Jazz In Cradle organised by Gallery MOMONirox Sculpture Park is most certainly addictive.

Lots’o Love

Matsela

more reading; http://www.niroxarts.com/sculpturepark/

 

